Recording Artist / Novelist / Songwriter

Press/Reviews

10/3/18 Brett to open for LeAnn Rimes

http://am1050.com/2018/plymouths-brett-wiscons-opening-act-for-grammy-award-winner-leann-rimes/


8/28/17 Brett is a featured artist with Daytrotter and Paste Magazine!

http://www.daytrotter.com/brett-wiscons/horseshack-may-15-2017.html


4/14/17 Brett's song "Lovin' You" featured on The Tony Kornheiser Show!

The legend himself Tony Kornheiser featured Brett's song "Lovin' You" on his 4/13 podcast. Check it out. He gives a tease around the 37:00 mark and then plays the entire song to end the show. http://feeds.feedburner.com/kornheiser


3/8/17 Album review - ink19

http://ink19.com/2017/03/magazine/music-reviews/brett-wiscons


3/2/17 Song premiere from Innocent Words

http://innocentwords.com/innocent-words-song-premiere-brett-wiscons-red/


1/25/17 Album review on 100% Rock Magazine

http://magazine.100percentrock.com/cd-reviews/201701/219311


1/2/17 Brett is featured on Blast Echo's music site

http://blastecho.com/brett-wiscons-wants-you-to-stay-and-listen-to-this-jonasay-song/


12/15/16 Brett is featured on the Boot.com singing a John Prine song

Brett Wiscons and his special guest Bari Leigh perform John Prine‘s “Angel From Montgomery” for the final Guest Room Sessions installment of 2016.

http://theboot.com/guest-room-sessions-brett-wiscons-bari-leigh-angel-from-montgomery/


11/11/16 The Sun Herald Reviews The Heineken Sessions (Deluxe)

The Heineken Sessions Deluxe, Brett Wiscons (Captain BeardoRecords/MAD Diamond Entertainment, ???1/2)
This Oct. 28 release, comes from Brett Wiscons and was produced by Mark Bryan, who won two Grammys for his work with Hootie & The Blowfish.My favorite songs include the folk-rocking “SarAZona,” both electric and acoustic versions of “Don’t Be The One,” the snarky “Side Stage” and the lusty “Sophia’s Winery.”Broad-minded Americana fans will enjoy this recording.
---Ricky Flake, a former punk rocker and current music fan, lives in Biloxi. Reach him at flakericky@gmail.com
Read more here: http://www.sunherald.com/entertainment/article113661754.html#storylink=cpy


11/9/16 Review of The Heineken Sessions Deluxe by Off-Center Views

A review of the new album.
 http://off-centerviews.blogspot.com/2016/10/brett-wiscons-jonny-8track-ingrid.html


10/31/16 Innocent Words piece

http://innocentwords.com/innocent-words-presents-iw10-with-brett-wiscons/


10/31/16 Brett on Indy Style TV

For those who missed Brett on live tv last week.  Thank you, Indy Style!
http://wishtv.com/2016/10/28/indy-musician-brett-wiscons-releases-new-album/


10/31/16 Brett's music featured on Tony Kornheiser show!

Really cool to hear Tony Kornheiser use Brett's song "Side Stage" on one of his most recent podcasts (Thursday 10/27) and promote the new album. Check it out here (at around the 20:36 minute mark). http://www.tonykornheisershow.com/


9/6/16 Brett's Small Studio Session

Brett is joined by Julianne Hess and Rob Dixon for his Small Studio Session. 
http://www.wfyi.org/programs/small-studio-sessions/television/brett-wiscons


8/28/16 Indy Star Article features Brett

http://www.indystar.com/story/entertainment/arts/2016/08/27/here-your-indystar-fantasy-arts-league-d...


8/23/16 Brett sits down with Zionsville Life for a one-on-one

http://www.zionsvillelife.com/zionsville-musician-brett-wiscons-drops-new-album


8/12/16 National press out of New York City

http://top40-charts.com/news/Pop-Rock/Indianapolis-Based-Singer-Songwriter-Brett-Wiscons-To-Release-...


8/2/16 Article with Purdue University's The Exponent

http://www.purdueexponent.org/campus/article_eddb4c98-3c09-51cb-bafc-90cce3a826e1.html


7/28/16 Sneak peek of Brett's Small Studio Session on WFYI

Airing on Tuesday, 9/6, here is a sneak peek of Brett's Small Studio Session featuring Julianne Hess and Rob Dixon.
https://www.facebook.com/WFYI.Indianapolis/videos


6/27/16 Brett sits down with Ricky Lee Potts

Brett had a great time catching up with fellow Marian University alumni and chatting about the new single and so much more. Read the article here: http://rickyleepotts.com/2016/06/brett-wiscons-interview.html


4/29/16 98.3 FM - New Jersey - radio interview

http://magic983.com/2016/04/29/300621/  Brett chats with Debbie Mazzella at Magic 98.3 fm as part of her "On the Verge" segment. 


12/1/15 Brett on live TV!

Brett joined his friends over at Indy Style for a little release-week performance with his duo partner Anne Balbo. Watch here: http://wishtv.com/2015/11/05/brett-wiscons-releases-new-album/


10/30/15 Brother, Brother Beer Cast interview

Brett had a blast with Johnny and Brendan of Brother, Brother Beer Cast. Listen to the full interview here: http://www.brotherbrotherbeercast.com/e96-brett-wiscons--heineken-sessions.html#.VjLo1M90iDs.faceboo...


10/28/15 Current in Zionsville news article

Brett sat down with Zach Dunkin of Current in Zionsville to discuss The Heineken Sessions: http://www.currentnightandday.com/2015/10/27/no-side-show-zionsville-rocker-brett-wiscons-hopes-new-...


10/6/15 Radio appearance/performance 96.5FM WSVX

Brett had a great time today stopping by Giant96 in Shelbyville, IN to take a "Trip with Penny Lane." Check it out! http://www.wsvx.com/2015/10/06/take-a-trip-with-brett-wiscons-on-a-trip-with-penny-lane-on-giant-96-...


10/4/15 Bohlsen Group Press Release October 2015

Client News

       Brett Wiscons EP

Indianapolis-based Brett Wiscons releases new single and video

October 1, 2015Indianapolis-based Brett Wiscons releases new single and video
Wiscons promoting third solo EP The Heineken Sessions, available November 6Indianapolis, Ind. – (October 1, 2015) – The first single from Indianapolis-based singer-songwriter Brett Wiscons’ upcoming EP The Heineken Sessions is now available for digital download. “Don’t Be The One” is a duet featuring Anne Balbo of local Indianapolis band Zanna-Doo.View the video at: https://youtu.be/TsFypOCTxng.The full EP will be released on Friday, November 6 in conjunction with a release party at Union 50 (620 NE Street, Indianapolis) at 9:30 p.m. The Brett Wiscons Band will be joined on stage by former members of the rock band Great Scott!, which he formed more than a decade ago. A second release party will be held in Wiscons’ hometown of Plymouth, Ind., featuring The Brett Wiscons Band at Swan Lake Resort (5203 Plymouth Laporte Trail) on Saturday, November 21 at 9 p.m.The full EP will be available at brettwiscons.com.“I wrote “Don’t be the One” in June of last year after my wife and I got into a little argument,” says Wiscons. “As a songwriter, I decided to go to the extreme and try and capture what it would have been like to lose her. I immediately thought of Anne to sing on it. It wasn’t a true duet until we got into the studio and started playing around with the tune. Once we decided to feature Anne in the intro, the song took shape from there and I felt like we really had a song that had universal appeal.”The Heineken Sessions was recorded in Awendaw, S.C., just outside of Charleston, and is produced by two-time GRAMMY Award winning producer, guitarist and songwriter Mark Bryan, a founding member of Hootie & The Blowfish. Additional tracks include “Side Stage,” “Lovin’ You,” Until I Think About You,” and acoustic versions of both “Lovin’ You” and “Don’t Be The One.” Wiscons successfully funded the new EP via Kickstarter as well as a private pledge from Heineken USA.For more information and to download Wiscons’ music, visit brettwiscons.com.About Brett WisconsBrett M. Wiscons is an Indiana-based author and musician. In 2013, he self-published the first installment in a series of books starring fictional private eye Bear Whitman in the debut novel Friend or Foe?, and has since released Searching for Sara Caruso (2014) and Turn Three (2015) as part of the series. In addition to writing, he is a founding member of two premier live acts in Indianapolis. Leaving a lucrative sales job to follow his passion for music, Wiscons formed rock band Great Scott!, which just celebrated 10 years with a headlining show at the Vogue Theatre, and acoustic duo The Michaels. Wiscons’ musical influences range from Hootie & The Blowfish to Pearl Jam, and he has shared the stage with national recording artists Zac Brown Band and Katy Perry. Wiscons funded his second solo EP, 33, in just 33 days via Kickstarter. He and his wife reside in Indianapolis.


9/4/15 College performance review - Indiana Univ. @ Kokomo

It was perfect for what we were going for. Easy to work with and not demanding which is what we like!
Performance Date:  Sept. 2, 2015
Maria Ahmad, Coordinator of Student Life, Indiana University – Kokomo, IN 


8/23/15 College performance review - IUPUC

Performance date: 8/21/15
Brett and the band rocked our campus. I have received several compliments regarding the show. Thanks again for the assistance.
Kaleb Briscoe - IUPUC Columbus, IN


4/30/15 College Performance Review

Brett was fantastic! Our event went great, better than planned. The weather was amazing, good attendance, nothing but great things to say about Brett. Our students really enjoyed him.  I will definitely keep you in mind for future events. I will likely be looking for something in August and I plan to bring Brett up for department and campus wide events in the future as well.
Performance Date:  April 28, 2015 
Kory Theil, Hall Director, Minnesota State University at Mankato – Mankato, MN 


4/25/15 College performance review

 I just wanted to follow up about Brett's performance today - he was WONDERFUL! He was extremely easy going, was a trooper dealing with the cool, windy weather, and best of all - VERY talented!  Couldn't have asked for it to go any better. Thank you! Alli (Bear) Tempel, Student Activities Coordinator, Vincennes University – Jasper, IN


4/7/15 Interview/performance from WFYI 90.1 (NPR) radio

Brett sat down with Jill Ditmire on 4/1 to discuss his latest novel and perform his hit song "Indiana Summer." 
https://m.soundcloud.com/wfyi/indianapolis-author-musician-brett-wiscons


3/5/15 Current in Zionsville interview

Brett discusses the genesis of the Bear Whitman character and his latest novel Turn Three.
http://www.currentzionsville.com/2015/03/05/zionsville-authors-latest-mystery-centers-indy-500/


3/2/15 Television appearance (3/2/15)

Check out Brett's interview/performance on Indy Style!
http://wishtv.com/2015/03/02/indiana-authormusician-brett-wiscons-releases-his-third-murder-mystery-...


1/23/15 College performance review - Mount Mercy University

Performance Date:  Jan. 20, 2015
"House,
I would like to thank you for sending Brett Wiscons. He did an amazing job and student and faculty-staff really enjoyed his performance." - 
Nenad Simovic, Graduate Assistant for Student Activities - Mount Mercy University, Cedar Rapids, IA 


1/16/15 College performance review - Carthage College

Performance Date:  Jan. 7, 2015
"Brett was great and super easy to work with. Had great student interaction and even did a duet on the fly with a student playing violin! Thanks again!" - Becky Hughes, Director of Student Activities, Carthage College – Kenosha, WI


12/11/14 College performance review - Monroe County Community College

"Just wanted to let you know that Brett did an awesome job for our Cellar Grand Re-Opening Party. Students had a great time with him and he was very easy to work with. Loved his music choice and voice. Perfect for what we needed. Thanks for your help!" - Tom Ryder, Events & Student Activities Coordinator, Monroe County Community College (Performance date: 12/9/14)


11/21/14 College performance review - Salem College

Just wanted to let you know Brett was great and we had a great show!
Thank You, Emily Long, Director of Student Activities
Performance date: 11/6/14


11/21/14 College performance review - Wake Forest University

This past Friday, Wake Forest University hosted Brett Wiscons. I am letting you know that everyone in attendance enjoyed his performance. His performance engaged the audience, and he was very easy to work with.
-- Akshay Dave, Student Union Coffeehouse Programming Chair
Performance date: Friday, 11/7/14


10/13/14 BWB at The Vogue Theater (live video)

After the band wrapped the filming for the "Broad Ripple" music video, they had a little fun with the crowd. Here's a snippet of the boys performing the classic Bill Withers tune "Use Me." 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Is0RX-Y4wmU




9/9/14 College performance review - Purdue University

Just wanted to send a quick note saying how impressed everyone was with Brett. Not only is he a phenomenal performer, he was very professional, energetic, friendly, and so great with our crowd. We thoroughly enjoyed having him on campus and very much look forward to bringing him back!--Performance Date:  Sept. 6, 2014--Stephanie Nitschmann, Graduate Advisor for PSUB, Purdue University – West Lafayette, IN 


9/2/14 Brett shares a personal story...

I am fortunate to have a career in music. Sometimes, it's not easy, but I feel like music chose me - not the other way around. Recently I spoke about my essential tremor. It was time to shed some light on a malady which affects over ten million others. Read it here:  http://www.essentialtremor.org/about-et/publications-library/


8/21/14 Brett on 100.3 FM KORN Country

Brett & Rob Dixon stopped by the studio today to play a stripped down version of "Indiana Summer." Here's a snippet. 
https://www.facebook.com/ajax/sharer/?s=11&appid=2392950137&p[0]=10152284187426724&profile_id=246945...


8/11/14 Brett performs on live TV (8.11.14)

Brett and his special guests Anne Balbo (vocals) and Rob Dixon (sax) perform live on INDY Style on Monday, 8/11/14. 

http://wishtv.com/2014/08/11/brett-wiscons-singer-songwriter-brett-wiscons-performs/


7/1/14 Music video release

http://www.indystar.com/story/entertainment/music/2014/07/01/wiscons-rathskeller-biergarten-indiana-...


6/10/14 College performance review - Joliet Junior College

"Just wanted you to know that Brett was great today. He was super easy to work with and very talented. I would love to get him back when we can really show his music off….we’ll have to see if we have an event coming up that I could plug him into. Thanks again." -- Pam Dilday, Director of the office of Student Activities, Joliet Junior College, Joliet, IL


6/9/14 Brett contributes a blog post to the Spirit & Place Festival

'My Journey' by Brett M. Wiscons

http://spiritandplace.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/my-journey/


4/15/14 Brett teams up with Cookie Monster for a one-of-a-kind duet!

It was so much fun working with a legend! Check out the link to see some cool prize packs!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=697978313577735&set=vb.125587937483445&type=2&theater


3/6/14 Brett sits down with WFYI 90.1FM

Brett joins host Jill Ditmire for a brief interview and acoustic version of his single "Sophia's Winery." Take four minutes and enjoy.

https://soundcloud.com/wfyi/musician-and-author-brett


3/3/14 Live video of "Broad Ripple"

Brett performs the crowd favorite, "Broad Ripple" from his new EP 33. Special thanks to Dave Lindquist at Indy Star and the Bohlsen Group. 

http://www.indystar.com/media/cinematic/video/5980169/singer-songwriter-brett-wiscons/


3/3/14 Brett & his band perform on live TV!

Check out the BWB perform "Indiana Summer" and "Sarazona" off 33 on INDY Style on 3/3. 

http://wishtv.com/2014/03/03/brett-wiscons-new-album-33/



3/3/14 Indy Star Article

http://www.indystar.com/story/entertainment/music/2014/03/03/wiscons-hootie-blowfish-mark-bryan-hast...


3/1/14 College performance review - Marian University

“We have hired Brett for various events and always had a great experience working with him. He is professional and does a great job performing and interacting with the crowd.” 
Barbara Stuckwisch, Director of Alumni Relations Marian University, Indianapolis, IN 


3/1/14 College performance review - Indiana State University

“I'm pretty sure at some point in Brett's life, he was fused with a majestic dragon. He's got energy. He's got heart. He may even breathe fire; he's just that awesome. He has so much heart on and off the stage that it made working with him during our Earth Day event on Indiana State University's campus that much more awesome.” --Faren Coday, Spotlight Entertainment President, Indiana State University Terre Haute, IN 


3/1/14 College performance review - Bellarmine University

Family Weekend went very well.  Brett did a great job this weekend.  He showed up early, was able to setup quickly and started on time.  Even with the unexpected cold temperatures, he was a trooper and put on a great performance.  We received a number of compliments from the attendees of the festival about his performance.  They felt like he was a great fit for the event and played a good variety of music that catered to all ages.  Thank you again for recommending him and we look forward to working with your company again in the spring for future events. - Emelia D. Dunston, M.Ed., Director of Student Activities for Campus Programming, Bellarmine University, Louisville, KY


3/1/14 Album Review: 33

http://www.staceypageonline.com/2014/02/16/album-review-brett-wiscons-33/


3/1/14 Brett Wiscons talks new EP (Nuvo article)

http://www.nuvo.net/indianapolis/brett-wiscons-talks-new-ep/Content?oid=2774073#.UxIa1eNdWSo